We Recommend

Recommendations from the staff of the East Lansing Public Library.


Events and Happenings


Repeats every week until Mon Nov 28 2016 except Sun Nov 20 2016.
Mon, 10/03/2016 - 10:30am

BabyTime is an interactive early literacy experience intended for babies ages birth to 2 years.  It includes nursery rhymes, songs, puppets, rhythm activities, sharing a book, freeplay and more.  Babies are born ready to learn.  BabyTime is important to help lay the foundation for learning in a fun and relaxed fashion.  Although your child is years away from becoming a reader, he or she starts to develop the skills necessary for reading and writing at birth.  BabyTime is one of ELPL's Early Literacy programs that not only teaches and reinforces these important skills, but also makes them for for both parent and child.  

Upcoming BabyTime sessions:

  • October 17
  • October 24
  • October 31
  • November 7
  • November 14
  • November 28

Baby Time

Added by Admin on Saturday, October 1, 2016

All Hallows' Read Training Sessions for Teens

Repeats every day until Tue Oct 25 2016.
Mon, 10/24/2016 - 3:00pm

Teens in grades 7-12 are invited to join the ELPL Teen Advisory Board in providing a special spooky storytime this Hallowe’en season!

Volunteer to dress in your Hallowe’en best and read picture books to children before leading them through East Lansing Public Library’s first annual haunted house! The event will last from 6pm-7pm on Sunday, October 30.

Teen readers MUST attend a training session held at the Library the week prior to the event:

  • Monday, Oct. 24, 3pm-4pm 
  • Tuesday, Oct. 25, 3pm-4pm

Pick up an application form at the Library or sign up online: http://tiny.cc/elplahr 

Added by Lauren on Monday, October 10, 2016

Homework Help

Repeats every week until Mon Dec 05 2016 except Sun Oct 30 2016, Sun Nov 20 2016.
Mon, 10/10/2016 - 5:00pm

Homework can be a struggle.Sometimes it helps to have someone new assist your child with their homework.  Each Monday the MSU College of Education honors organization Kappa Delta Pi will tutor students grades K-12 from 5-7pm.   No registration required!

Kappa Delta Pi is an international honor society in education. Invitation to Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement at the college level, a commitment to being an educator in the future, and a healthy attitude which ensures success in the education of students.

Homework Help will meet every Monday through December 5, except October 31 and November 21.






Homework Help

Added by Jennifer on Thursday, September 1, 2016

French Club

Repeats every 2 weeks every Monday until Mon Dec 19 2016.
Mon, 10/10/2016 - 7:00pm

Practice your French at the Library!  All ages and skill levels welcome.

Upcoming Sessions of French Club:

  • October 10
  • October 24
  • November 7
  • November 21
  • December 5
  • December 19

Added by Lauren on Saturday, October 1, 2016