Lauren's blog

New For You - New Catalog and Website Debut in March

In early March, ELPL will be launching a new website and a new catalog system!  New and improved features include: 

New Library Catalog and Website Debut in March

In early March, ELPL will be launching a new website and a new catalog system!  New and improved features include: 

150th Anniversary of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Birth!

February 7 is the 150th anniversary of Laura Ingalls Wilder's birth.  To celebrate take a trip back to the Big Woods with Ma, Pa and Half Pint with a hand picked list of items from the library's collection.  Our Laura Ingalls Wilder post is also a sneak preview of the library's new catalog and web site, debuting in early March.  When you click the photo below you will be taken to a new digital list created using the new catalog. 

Internet Access Restored to City of East Lansing Buildings

All services are back online today, including:

  • Online catalog
  • Public computer access
  • Public wifi access

 

Thank you for your patience during the outage.  

AARP Tax Aide Help at the Library

Beginning February 3rd AARP Tax-Aide staff will be at the East Lansing Public Library offering free tax help to anyone who registers for an appointment.  The AARP Tax-Aide program is designed for low-income senior citizens but anyone is welcome to register for assistance.  Sign-ups are on a first-come-first-serve basis and any participants who show up to their appointment without the proper documentation will be turned away.  

To schedule an appointment stop by the Service Desk at the library or call (517) 351-2420.

You will receive a reminder call the week of your appointment.  Please keep the following in mind:

  • Plan to arrive at the library at least 20 minutes early to fill out forms for the tax preparers.
  • Please bring a picture ID for each taxpayer on the return (i.e. for both spouses).
  • Please bring a Social Security card for taxpayer, spouse, and all dependents (this is a new requirement).
  • Please bring a copy of last year's tax return.
  • Please bring all of your income documents:  W2, 1099R, 1099INT, 1099DIV, etc.
  • If you intend to itemize please bring all your receipts.
  • If you intend to claim educational expenses please bring form 1098T.
  • Please bring a blank check in order to set up direct deposit or debit for any refund or balance due.  Preparers will not keep the check - this is just for the purpose of setting up the proper bank routing information.

One Pan Wonders from America's Test Kitchen

This timely title from America's Test Kitchen dropped this Tuesday - just in time to help you battle your fatigue from the Thanksgiving/Christmas/Hanukkay/Kwanzaa cooking season.  Anything that helps you get dinner on the table with a minimum of fuss and dirty pans is a winner.  I had a chance to page through this book before it was sent out to the new book shelves and the recipes are accessible and practical.  

2017 Library Closures

  • Monday, January 16 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Monday, February 20 - Presidents' Day
  • Sunday, April 16 - Easter Sunday
  • Sunday, May 28 and Monday, May 29 - Memorial Day Weekend (Summer Sunday closures begin)
  • Tuesday, July 4 - Independence Day
  • Sunday, September 3 and Monday, September 4 - Labor Day Weekend (Summer Sunday closures end)
  • Friday, October 21 - Library closes at 3pm - MSU Homecoming Parade
  • Friday, November 10 and Saturday, November 11 - Veterans Day

Library to Delay Opening by Two Hours

The East Lansing Public Library will open at 12 noon on Monday, December 12, to allow for clean up from a winter storm.  

For further updates check the library website and the website for the City of East Lansing.

ELPL's Teen Librarian Wins Library SOUP Award

Congratulations to our Teen Librarian Jessica Lee-Cullin for winning Library SOUP! at the Michigan Library Association conference.  Jessica's winning entry was ELPL's Wee Free Pantry, a pantry of nonperishable food and personal hygiene items that provide materials unavailable to the library's most disenfranchised patrons and empower community members to contribute to the well-being of the community.  Way to go Jessica!

The Secret History of Twin Peaks

If you are still dreaming of cherry pie and the wind ripping through the Douglas Firs, there is a new book that is just up your alley.  Since ending in 1991 Twin Peaks has continued to puzzle, enchant and disturb each generation that discovers it. When creators David Lynch and Mark Frost announced that a new season would be airing on Showtime in 2016 (after the announcement it was quickly moved to 2017) interest peaked yet again in the tiny fictional Northwest town.  

The Secret History of Twin Peaks by Mark Frost is billed as a novel, but it really is a meticulous description of the many oddities and horrors that have befallen the town.  Take it home and find yourself back in the woods with nobody but the Log Lady to save you.  

A New Way to Dinner

The Food52 folks are back with another cookbook, this one geared towards solving the eternal dilemna, "What's for dinner?"  But truthfully, this book isn't just about dinner.  It attempts to remove the mystery from meal planning by combining seasonal shopping, weekend cooking, and leftover utilization to not only get dinner on the table, but brown bag lunches out the door as well.  The cookbook is beautiful, and heck, since the Food52 folks helped introduce the most amazing tomato sauce on the internet, I'm pretty sure they can accomplish miracles.

Here's a list of all the Food52 cookbooks at ELPL. 

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins

If you can stomach the violence in Game of Thrones and enjoy reading historical fiction (specifically anything set in Great Britian), The Last Days of Magic is worthy of your time.  The magic in the title is a bit misleading, as this book is not a read-alike for fans of Deborah Harkness' All Souls Trilogy, Lev Grossman's  Magician novels, and certainly not Harry Potter.  Rather, Tompkins book is about the many magical creatures that once roamed the Earth and are now fighting to maintain their existence in the kingdom of Ireland.  This novel also boasts a strong female protagonist so if you are in the mood for a bloody historical epic with girl power, you are in luck.

The Making of Outlander The Series

Outlander fans, you disappoint me!  The Making of Outlander: the Series just dropped today and there are no holds on it!  If you are still experiencing withdrawal symptoms as you wait for Season 3 to air, take this book home and learn how the books by Diana Gabaldon were brought to the small screen.  This book is filled with beautiful photos and enough plaid to resurrect Bonnie Prince Charlie's army.  

Good Clean Fun by Nick Offerman

Do you enjoy meat, wood working and dense facial hair?  If the answer is yes then place a hold on the latest from Nick Offerman, Good Clean Fun.  If you loved Offerman in Parks & Recreation as the indefatigable man's man Ron Swanson then this book is for you.  If you like Good Clean Fun you can also try his earlier book, Gumption:  relighting the torch of freedom with America's gutsiest troublemakers.  

Change to My Account Login Page

Starting today, patrons logging into the My Account page of the library catalog will no longer need to fill in their name.  Only barcode and PIN will be required.

Why is the library making this change?  Coming soon, the library will be rolling out a new library catalog and website.  Both of the new sites offer many patron friendly features that will enable you to find new favorite authors and titles and connect with other ELPL patrons.  The change to the current My Account page will facilitate the move to the new catalog and web site.

If you have any questions about the change please email elpltech@cityofeastlansing.com, and thank you for your patience as we work to make your online patron experience engaging and intuitive. 

Pages