We Recommend

Recommendations from the staff of the East Lansing Public Library.

 
 
 
 

Events and Happenings

ToddlerTime Tuesdays!

Repeats every week until Tue Feb 28 2017 except Mon Nov 21 2016.
Tue, 10/04/2016 - 10:30am

ToddlerTime is an active storytime designed to build pre-reading skills in toddlers.

Upcoming sessions of ToddlerTime:

  • February 21
  • February 28

 

 

 

Toddler Time

Added by Admin on Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Audrie and Daisy: Sexual Assault, Bullying and Social Media

Wed, 03/01/2017 - 6:00pm

Join us for a screening of Audrie and Daisy, followed by a panel discussion with experts who deal with issues of sexual assault within our community every day.

Audrie and Daisy is an urgent real-life drama that examines the ripple effects on families, friends, schools and communities when two underage young women find that sexual assault crimes against them have been caught on camera. From acclaimed filmmakers Bonni Cohen and Jon Shenk, Audrie and Daisy — which made its world premiere at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival — takes a hard look at American's teenagers who are coming of age in this new world of social media bullying, spun wildly out of control.

The discussion panel will include Tashmica Torok from the Firecracker Foundation, Detective Sam Miller from the Michigan State University (MSU) Police Department, Sgt. Jeff Thomas from the East Lansing Police Department, Harriet McTigue from the Sexual Assault Program at MSU, and Kimberly Hack from End Violent Encounters (EVE).

Added by Lauren on Thursday, February 16, 2017

Practice Your English

Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 29 2017 except Tue Nov 22 2016.
Wed, 10/12/2016 - 7:00pm

Join us for conversations to practice speaking and listening in English.

Upcoming sessions of Practice Your English:

  • February 15
  • February 22
  • March 1

Want more English practice opportunities?  Try Mango Languages -- an online English learning service, free to ELPL patrons!

 

 

Added by Lauren on Saturday, October 1, 2016

Spanish Conversation Group

Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 30 2017 except Wed Nov 23 2016.
Thu, 10/13/2016 - 7:00pm

Practice listening to and speaking Spanish in a friendly setting. All skill levels are welcome.

Upcoming Spanish Conversation Group sessions:

  • February 16
  • February 23
  • March 2

 

 

 

Added by Admin on Friday, September 30, 2016