Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire

I recently read Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire.  Egg and Spoon is a crazy mash up of a folk/fairy tale involving two girls from very different circumstances who accidentally switch places, Baba Yaga, and Czarist Russia.  There's magic, there's history, there's lots of confusion.

Those who have read Wicked will be familiar with Maguire's writing style.  It works very well here.  You will find it in the library's J Fiction section in the Children's room but don't be put off by that.  Like The Golden Compass, this book will entertain readers of all ages.

Chiggers by Hope Larson

It’s finally summer, and thirteen year old Abby is back at the sleepaway camp she’s loved attending for the last several years. Except this summer, things have started changing. There are new piercings, new boys, even new natural phenomena (including will o’ the wisps and the eponymous biting pests -- chiggers). Then there’s the new girl, Shasta, who no one can seem to stand except for Abby. As her summer at camp continues to go entirely differently (and a lot less smoothly) than she’d imagined it would, Abby has to realign her expectations, examine her own hang ups, and try to figure out her role in this familiar environment that’s suddenly not so familiar.

Aimed at readers ages 10 - 14, Chiggers, by Hope Larson fills an important role in the graphic novel genre -- realistic fiction for tween and teen girls, which are still comparatively few and far between in this medium. Chiggers does an admirable (and accurate) job of translating the sometimes confusing experience of growing up girl into a visual medium.

This is a great story for those who want to relive their summer camp experience, as well as those who simply appreciate a thoughtful, well-done graphic novel. Fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile and Sisters will likely enjoy this book as well, and recognize some common themes -- particularly, being a girl on the edge of teenagedom. Chiggers may not have as much action and adventure as some readers might expect from a graphic novel, but it overflows with heart, charm, and style.

Find it at ELPL here!

Graphic Novels for Kids

Looking for a great graphic novel for young readers? Check out some of our the past year’s best titles for kids and tweens here at ELPL!

Want more? Be sure to browse our graphic novel section in the children’s room or ask a librarian for help to discover your next great read!

Literacy-Based Apps for Kids

Digital literacy is an increasingly important factor of young children's education. Check out some of these free literacy-based apps that will help your toddler or preschooler read, write, play, and learn!

Michigan Reads! 2015

Do Unto OttersMr. Rabbit’s new neighbors are otters. Otters! But he doesn’t know anything about otters. Will they get along? Will they be friends? “Just treat otters the same way you’d like them to treat you,” advises Mr. Owl.

(Excerpt from inside flap)

The ELPL September 2015 Newsletter Is Out!

The newsletter is out and full of great events for all ages!







Amazing Selection of Children's Materials For Sale in the Friendshop!

Make sure to stop by the library's Friendshop to browse the latest batch of children's books for sale.  They just arrived and are priced to sell!



















Muy Caliente Musica

Latin music will forever remind me of my honeymoon in the Dominican Republic.  Recently, I took a Zumba class at the Hannah Community Center and now latin music reminds me of zumba!  Whatever the reason, I love latin music!  It puts me in a good mood, provides a boost of energy and makes me smile - even though I know very little of the Spanish language!  Luckily, ELPL has many awesome latin music choices both on CD and with Hoopla.  Here are some of my favorites:

The Last Don II by Don Omar
La Historia de el Duo by Wisin & Yandel ("The Duo of History")
Double Vision by Prince Royce  (with appearances by Snoop Dogg and J Lo!)  
A Quien Quiera Escuchar by Ricky Martin ("To Those Who Want to Listen")
Dale by Pitbull


To see all of ELPL's latin music cd's, click here

To see all of ELPL's latin music Hoopla downloads, click here

ELPL Downtown Maker Studio to Remain Open through May 2016

The East Lansing Public Library (ELPL) is excited to announce that the 2.0 Maker Studio, located in downtown East Lansing on the second floor of the East Lansing Marriott at University Place, will remain open for an additional 10 months, through May 2016. 

Tim Busfield's Performing Arts Warm-Up!

East Lansing Public Library - Meeting Room

Do you dream about one day acting, singing or dancing in a High School play, college play, Broadway play, movie or television show? 

Do you dream about one day writing, directing, producing or working on the crew of a High School play, college play, Broadway play, movie or television show?

Do you dream about someday being a part of something the whole world might see? 

This is your chance to start working toward that dream!

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

National Night Out/Touch-A-Truck 2015

East Lansing Public Library

Celebrate National Night Out at the library with our third annual Touch a Truck event.

Taxonomy upgrade extras: 

Across Generations Videofest

When Michele Norris spoke at the Wharton Center on September 15, 2014 as part of the One Book, One Community program, she told the audience to talk to our parents, grandparents, our aunts and uncles, our elders to hear their stories. She said we need to have conversations with our elders to preserve our family histories or to know where we came from.

2015 Story Days for Stories in the Garden

Summer is just around the corner.  At the Library we are looking forward to another season of Stories in the Garden.  Plan to attend one of the three Story Days at the Michigan 4-H Children's Garden planned for this summer:

  • Wednesday, July 8, from 7-8:30pm @ the Children's Garden at MSU
  • Wednesday, July 15, 7-8:30pm @ the Children's Garden at MSU
  • Wednesday, July 22, 7-8:30pm @ the Children's Garden at MSU